How to watch Facebook’s F8 developer conference

The Facebook developer conference has become a strange business. Each year, in April, the social network calls a meeting dedicated to its extensive platform in San Jose, California, for the thousands of companies, creators and programmers who depend on it. The conference usually includes announcements of new features that reach the Facebook application suite, along with updates on their more experimental virtual and augmented reality and artificial intelligence efforts.

In recent years, the conference has been eclipsed by controversies related to data privacy, security, moderation and other issues that revolve around Facebook's struggle to control its platform and have its global influence . Last year, it was reported that Facebook delayed the disclosure of its video chat device on the Portal in F8 specifically because the optics of doing so after the Cambridge Analytica scandal would have resulted in a public relations disaster.

This year is no different. The F8 2019 begins today with an opening speech from 1PM ET / 10AM PT that will feature opening comments from CEO Mark Zuckerberg, as well as a series of announcements through its application ecosystem and its growing hardware efforts with Oculus and Portal . But Facebook has just announced during its quarterly earnings report last week that it will reserve $ 3 billion for a potentially unprecedented fine from the Federal Trade Commission for its privacy practices. The company is also trying to figure out how to moderate its platform, despite the toll moderation that affects its human contractors, and offers better solutions to combat electoral interference, misinformation and false news, and general misuse of third parties malicious

That makes F8 a particularly interesting time to hear what Zuckerberg has to say, particularly in relation to Facebook's ambitious plan to transition to a privacy and messaging service first. It also helps set the tone for how the company positions its new products and features in an increasingly hostile environment towards Big Tech and the data-collection models supported by advertising that have shaped the modern Internet.

For those interested in tuning in to hear Facebook's plans for the future and how it addresses its various scandals in a rare live forum, here's how you can access F8 2019 online.

Where to look:

Start time: New York: 1PM / San Francisco: 10AM / London: 5PM / Berlin: 6PM / Moscow: 8PM / New Delhi: 10:30 PM / Beijing: 1AM ( May 1st) / Tokyo: 2AM (May 1) / Melbourne: 4AM (May 1)

Keynote live broadcast: Facebook will broadcast live the address of the opening conference of its dedicated website of the F8 There is also a registration option to receive an email when the broadcast is published and when recordings of the main speech and other popular sessions are available. Alternatively, you can also see on Facebook through the Facebook page for developers, which now hosts a dedicated F8 event.

Watch on Oculus: Facebook is also available its F8 note to see through Oculus Venues, the VR live video platform for the Oculus Go and Gear VR headsets. You can register to access that here.

Please Note: This content is provided and hosted by a 3rd party server. Sometimes these servers may include advertisements. igetintopc.com does not host or upload this material and is not responsible for the content.