How to protect your privacy on YouTube

YouTube has become a ubiquitous part of our online world, where privacy is a problem. Your video viewing habits may be open for the world to see, along with your likes, dislikes and more. If you create and upload videos, you could accidentally give away private information such as your address or phone number.

Here's how to protect your privacy as much as possible by using the popular video site. The instructions are here to use YouTube on the web and through a mobile application; I used the mobile application on an iPhone, but the Android version should work the same way.

Hide your video preferences

Start by controlling two of your most important privacy settings: your viewing habits and your tastes.


  YouTube Privacy

On the web

  • Go to your YouTube homepage. Click on the icon of your avatar and select "Settings" and then "Privacy".
  • The screen shows if your favorite videos, your subscriptions and your saved playlists can be seen by the world or just by you.
  • Check the box next to each category you want to keep private, then click "Save."

  YouTube Privacy


  YouTube Privacy

On your mobile device

  • In the YouTube app, tap your avatar icon in the upper right corner of the window.
  • Select "My channel".
  • Tap the gear icon to the right of your name.
  • Under the subtitle "Privacy", you can activate and deactivate the possibility of keeping private the videos, subscriptions or playlists that you like.

Disable or customize ad personalization

Google tracks YouTube videos you see and uses that information to deliver personalized ads. But if you do not want your ad preferences tracked, you can turn it off. If you do not care about personalized ads but still want some control over your privacy, you can remove some of the information that Google has about your interests (for example, your taste in music).

On the web

  • Select "Settings"> "Privacy" and then click on the Google Ads Settings link in the "Ads by my interest" section of the page.
  • To disable personalization, move the slider in the "Ad Customization" section to "Off". (Note that this also disables it for other Google services, such as search).
  • If you want to modify the settings of your ad, scroll down to the section "How your ads are personalized" section of the page. Enjoy how much Google thinks it knows about you, then click on one or more interests that are wrong or you just do not want Google to know.
  • On the screen that appears, click on "Deactivate". [19659025] However, you can not deactivate information about your age and gender. Click on any of the two and a screen will appear with the option "Update" that allows you to change the gender (either male, female or "instead of saying") or age. However, you can not delete them.

Using the YouTube mobile app

  • In the YouTube app, tap "Library" (at the bottom of the screen) then "History." Then touch the three-button menu and choose "History Controls."
  • Tap "Manage all activity", and from the screen that appears, touch the three-button menu to the right of the search field, and select "Other Google activity."
  • Scroll to the "Google ads settings" section and touch "Manage ad settings." You will reach a page that allows you to deactivate or edit the personalization of the ads as described above. 19659031] Clear your watch and your search history

    When you sign in to your Google account, YouTube keeps track of the videos you've seen and your search history. You can delete any video, search or all of them.

    On the web

    • Go to the YouTube home page and click on "History" on the left. hand menu. You will see a list of all the YouTube videos you have seen.
    • Move the mouse over any video you want to delete from your history and click on the X that appears to delete it.
    • To delete each single video, click on "Clear all observation history" on the right side of the page.
    • To prevent YouTube from remembering your videos, click on "Pause View History" on the right side of the page.
    • To do the same with your search history, select "Search history" on the right side of the page. Click the X next to any search to remove it and click "Clear all search history" to remove all searches. Click on "Pause search history" to pause searches.

    Using the YouTube mobile app

    • Using the YouTube app, tap the Library icon in the lower right part of the screen, then tap "History." You will see a list of all the videos you saw when you signed in to Google.
    • Tap the three-button menu next to any video you want to delete, then tap "Remove from watch" history "to remove it.
    • Tap the three-button menu at the top right of the screen and tap" History controls. "Touch" Clear view history "to remove all videos from your history and" Clear search history "to remove all searches.
    • To prevent YouTube from remembering your videos, move the slider next to "Stop watch history" to, and so YouTube does not remember your searches, move the slider next to "Stop search history" to

    Control the privacy of your own videos

    If you post videos in YouTube, there's a lot to do Learn about: the content that invades the privacy of your videos Be sure not to inadvertently include any information or image that you do not want to be made public, such as the number of your sa or the license plate of your car. Pay close attention to the funds because that's where personal images can slide.

    After taking care of that, do the following if you only want certain people, and not the general public, to watch your videos.

    On the web

    • Go to the upload page of Creator Studio. Note that Creator Studio (where YouTube videos are uploaded) has recently been updated; These instructions are for the most recent version.
    • Find the column called "Visibility" and place the mouse in that column to see the video whose privacy you want to control.
    • Click on the drop-down arrow and choose "Private" or "Not listed". No one can watch a private video unless you share the URL with them. It will not be shown in searches, it will be published on your channel or it will appear in your feed, and it can not be shared by others, appear in a section of the channel or comment. An unlisted video will not be shown in searches, it will be published on your channel or it will be displayed in a subscriber source, but it can be shared and commented by others, and it will be displayed in a section of the channel.
    • Share a private or unlisted video, move the mouse to the right of its description, click on the three-button menu to the left of the Visibility column, then select "Get link to share." That copies the link to your clipboard; Now you can use it to send the link via email, messages or as you wish.
    • When uploading videos in the future, if you do not want them to be public, choose "Private" or "Not included in the list" in the dialog that appears when loading.

    Using the YouTube mobile application

    • Touch the icon of your avatar in the upper right corner of the home screen and select "My channel".
    • page that contains your uploads, playlists, videos that you like, saved playlists and subscriptions. Each of your charges will have, to the right of the name, three vertical points. Touch that.
    • On the pop-up menu, tap "Edit."
    • This is where you can edit the title, description, tags, location and privacy of your video. Touch "Privacy." Then you can select "Public", "Not included in the list" or "Private".

    Vox Media has affiliate associations. These do not influence the editorial content, although Vox Media can earn commissions for products purchased through affiliate links. For more information, see our ethics policy .

Please Note: This content is provided and hosted by a 3rd party server. Sometimes these servers may include advertisements. igetintopc.com does not host or upload this material and is not responsible for the content.


Open

Close