Apple adds extra step to App Store subscriptions to prevent scams and accidental purchases

Apple has added an additional pop-up screen where users can confirm that they want to pay for recurring application subscriptions. Once users download applications that require subscriptions or touch subscription options within the application, a pop-up window will appear after the initial Face or Touch ID confirmation screen.

The "Confirm subscription" menu explains to users that the subscription will continue unless they are canceled in Settings. It is useful to know the information, especially since most applications attract users by offering free trials, and users may not realize that their cards are still being loaded after the test ends. The feature was first discovered by the developer David Barnard on Twitter.

The update is part of Apple's ongoing effort to make payment options in the most transparent application. In January, the company began requiring application subscriptions to show the total cost to users before subscribing to end subscriptions for erroneous applications.

The function will also be useful to reduce scams on Touch ID phones, where the touch of the start button could trigger a fingerprint scan to confirm purchases. Some fitness applications have been tricking users into making purchases within the application while obtaining their fingerprint scans for "fitness tracking data." The new pop-up screen can serve as an additional layer of protection against bad actors.